Aliiiiive and Kickin’….

Good news!!!  My doctor informed me that my creatinine numbers are going back down!  (Maria, I think you were on to something with your comment!  ;))  They said that because everything looked good this time, there was no reason to worry about rejection, so for now, I’m in the clear!  Woooohooo!!!

I swear, the first song that came on the radio on my way home was Eye of the Tiger – which is fitting since Kirby is KICKING BUTT!  I just pictured Kirby running up the Rocky stairs with boxing arms swinging saying “Bring it!  I will NOT be taken down!”  😀  It also seemed like every song after was one inspiring song after the next.  Even the rainy, gray clouds cleared and I had sunny, blue skies all the way home!  No joke!  As cheesy as that sounds, I did truly feel as if God was sending me the message to say “everything is gonna be alright!”  Or was that Bob Marley?  I did cry a little out of relief and also from thinking of how much this has stressed my entire family out over the last month.   It’s like a huge weight was lifted off my shoulders.

Boxing-kidney

Now, I just have to make sure I’m an absolute PEST to this pharmacy to ensure that it doesn’t happen again.  I am still trying to negotiate with our benefits team to allow me to switch pharmacies, but that might be on-going and a months-long process, so I’ll keep at it.  I can be incredibly persistent when I have to be.  Hee…

I want to thank everyone who commented, emailed and texted me with your prayers and suggestions!  I truly have the best people surrounding me, and without you, this fight could seem impossible.  Your words helped me stay strong when I went into panic mode, and it really, REALLY helped.  Thank you!

On a similar topic, I’d like to share a special evening I had last week that also helped me stay inspired.  I was invited as a special guest of our Tiffany & Co partners to attend the Taylor’s Gift Awards dinner.  (For those who are unaware of this organization, it’s the only non-profit organization of it’s kind to help promote organ donation.  They also help with financial aid for families having to go through the organ donation process.  For more on their story, which is an amazing story, click here.)  It was a very emotional night as people told their stories, but it was the boost of positivity I needed the day I received the news of my kidney last week.   🙂  Plus, they even raised more than $50K to help the cause!  I’m hoping to be able to donate some time with them in the future!

Taylor's Gift - table pic 2017

Taylor's Gift - cofounder pic - cropped 2017

Me with the Taylor’s Gift co-founders – Tara and Todd Storch. #taylorsgift #outliveyourself

************

Things I’m thankful for today:

1.  Kirby is safe and I can breathe easy knowing the pharmacy didn’t ruin my organ!
2.   I have amazing friends & family who are quick to pray and help boost me up when things get rough!
3.  Heather Norris – for thinking of me at the Taylor’s Gift dinner!  I had such an amazing night, thank you!
4.  I finally got to eat my tacos for National Taco Day!

 

Leave a Reply

Six Until Me – diabetes blog

Life is one big adventure...especially when it's covered in cheese!

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

The Taco Trail

¡Tacoventura!

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

japecake

HUMOR & POPULAR CULTURE & WORDS & AMPERSANDS

White Elephant in the Room

random insight from an unwanted houseguest

The Big Sheep Blog

Where imagination, business and life collide.

Typical Type 1

Is there anything new to say about living with Type 1 diabetes? Maybe not, but I'll try anyway.

Diabetically Speaking

Life is one big adventure...especially when it's covered in cheese!

Holly's Walk

Documenting amazing journeys across America on foot

Bob Northam

Author of The ABC's of the Big D: My Life on Dialysis

ABQ Brats

Making the transition to the civilian world together

DevonTexas

© 2013 DevonTexas

Forever Gluten Free

Adventures in Gluten Free Living

