Take a look at me now!

Whoa!  Where have I been?  I can’t believe I haven’t posted anything for almost a year!  Is anyone still out there?  *knock knock*   Hello?   Beuller?

I’m glad to say that my absence hasn’t been due to any horrific circumstance… it’s actually due to the opposite!  Things have been going so well that I felt there really wasn’t much to report on!  Which, given the nature of this blog, is actually an awesome thing.  However, after hearing back from a few people, it seems people actually liked my blog and want to see it continue.  😀    *enter warm fuzzy kitty grin here*

Sally Field

So, on that note, here’s the scoop:

  1. The biggest and most important change I’ve encountered this year is with my job.  I FINALLY got my dream job back!  I can’t even begin to tell you how good it feels to be back doing what I absolutely love.  I’ve missed it TERRIBLY these past four years, and being back in this role just feels like coming home.  It’s almost like I’ve finally found the last piece of the puzzle for putting my “old” life back together!
  2. I’ve been able to travel again! Obviously, from my last post, I was able to visit Europe for the first time, but now I’ve got the freedom to allow me to see outside of my little Dallas bubble again.  I’m lucky that my job pulls me to all parts of the country, so I can continue to add memories to my travel check-list.
  3. I’ve regained my independence. This year, I was finally able to move back into my own place again.  I am blessed with an amazing family that took me in and took care of me while I was sick and incapable of handling everything on my own.  However, once I got better, I was itching to get my own kitchen, my own living room, my own mess, and even doing my own chores again.  There’s something about having your own little piece of the world to take care of that is very empowering.
  4. I was able to join the committee for the JDRF Type 1 Nation event in Dallas!  For the first time, I felt able to put my expertise to use for a good cause!  It was the first time this event has been held in Dallas and it was a total success.  I can’t wait to do it again next year.  😀  (FYI, anyone who has diabetes, has family with diabetes, or simply wants to learn more about it should absolutely attend the one in your city.  The speakers, information, and networking are invaluable!)
  5. I think the one and only fly in my soup is my cheeks.  I’ve complained about the prednisone “moon face”, and I know I don’t have it nearly as bad as others, but I still feel as if I don’t have my normal face back.  My cheeks are still “Dippity Dogs” as I call them, but if that’s the worst of it, hey, I’ve got it GOOD!

keep-calm-and-look-like-droopy-dog

That being said, regarding my health issues, I realize I am very fortunate to have been able to regain a healthy post in life.  I have watched the successes and failures of several people around me who have suffered similar health set-backs and am fully aware that unfortunately, the blessings I’ve been given don’t fall into everyone’s lap.  One of the guys I met while going through my transplant clinics had a kidney/pancreas transplant, and his recovery has not been very smooth.  My heart goes out to him to think not only of the suffering he still has to endure, but of how disappointed he must feel after having such high expectations post-transplant.

We are rolling dice with our outcomes.  There is never a guarantee that our lives will ever be the same after such a large life-altering circumstance.  I bet big, though, and I’d like to believe that someday the odds will “ever be in our favor”!  Yes, I totally just dropped a Hunger Games reference there…

Beat odds

At this point, I’d like to re-focus my blog on more exciting and positive experiences.  I may be stuck with the list of “ailments” I’ve been lucky to receive, but there are always going to be advancements.  For those of you who were following to keep up with my transplant, the journey continues, and I hope you stick around to hear the good things that are waiting around the corner!  This isn’t a journal for me.  I’d like to think of it as more of a community – a place where I can share what I know/learn, and for you to do the same.  I LOVE feedback, and always welcome it.  🙂

Now, given I’m about to make a turkey dinner for the first time ever, anyone got some tips/advice to share?  Hee…

************

Things I’m thankful for today:

1.  I love my job.  I am so thankful that my company has worked to create a position for me to return to and that I have a very helpful and supportive boss that is pushing me to grow.   Yay Essilor!

2.  My sister has been able to switch her careers too and start her dream job as a teacher! She’s worked very hard to get there, and I’m so happy to see her get what she wanted.

3.  The unity world-wide following the Paris attacks. It’s fascinating to me how such horrible crises end up with so much love.  All of those small, petty annoyances we tend to focus on day-to-day tend to disappear when we see the suffering of others in such a terrible way.    Those terrorists have no idea what kind of power comes with this type of support…and I hope their asses get kicked!!!  #prayforparis

6 responses

  1. Loved the update!!!!! Carry on Nacho Mamma!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    1. Thanks! I hope there continues to be more to update! LOL!

  2. I’m so happy you are feeling back to normal again, Berta!! That is wonderful news! You are such an inspiration! Your job sounds great. What a blessing! Keep on getting stronger, and I look forward to your next post. 😃😘❤️ ~ Jules

    1. Thanks Jules! I miss ya! 🙂

  3. Hey look at you! You already wrote ur blog post! As soon as I get back in town, I’ll get back to my blog too– thx for the inspiration! I look forward to reading more!

    1. I even checked to see if you had updated… get on it girl! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Six Until Me – diabetes blog

Life is one big adventure...especially when it's covered in cheese!

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

The Taco Trail

¡Tacoventura!

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

japecake

HUMOR & POPULAR CULTURE & WORDS & AMPERSANDS

White Elephant in the Room

random insight from an unwanted houseguest

The Big Sheep Blog

Where imagination, business and life collide.

Typical Type 1

Is there anything new to say about living with Type 1 diabetes? Maybe not, but I'll try anyway.

Diabetically Speaking

Life is one big adventure...especially when it's covered in cheese!

Holly's Walk

Documenting amazing journeys across America on foot

Bob Northam

Author of The ABC's of the Big D: My Life on Dialysis

ABQ Brats

Making the transition to the civilian world together

DevonTexas

© 2013 DevonTexas

Forever Gluten Free

Adventures in Gluten Free Living

