I’m a Joker…

I want to apologize for my rant in the last post… not sure if that offended anyone, but I guess a little bit of my Irish temper exposed itself on that one.  LOL!   Soooo, to keep things on the lighter side this week, I”ve listed a few one-liners that anyone on dialysis would laugh at… ok, maybe even just a chuckle… an eyeroll??   (*I only take credit for a couple of these… there are apparently a ton of kidney comedians out there… even if we’re only funny to ourselves.)  🙂

humor - pete-quaife-dialysis-cartoon

– How many dialysis patients does it take to change a lightbulb?  None, Ask the tech to do it since we can’t get up.

– Got Kidneys?   (on a t-shirt)

– Dialysis patients do it 3 times a week.

– Yes, that’s a tube in my pants, and yes, I’m happy to see you!  (my mom LOVED this one.  hahaha)

humor - keep calm

LOL! (a bit of dark humor)

So, to update you on our journey down kidney lane… I have had a bit of a struggle trying to get my doctor to send in her clearance for that sickness I had more than a month ago…well, after lots of pushing from my end, as well as from my transplant coordinator, we FINALLY got what we needed and my coordinator was able to present my case to the committee today.  She said that everything went well, and the fact that they know I now have a living donor sometimes helps speed up the process.  That being said, it would be too easy to say it went smoothly… they had a concern that they need to explore more thoroughly.  Back when the hospital found the blood clots in my lung, they also found a lesion on my liver.  A PET scan showed that it wasn’t cancerous, however, the committee wants me to have a more detailed CT scan done to show it’s not anything else before they can make me active.  So… next week, they are supposed to call me and schedule that test and hopefully, if all goes well, I can be active again!  Ugh… I swear, if it’s not one thing, it’s another!

On another note, I’m excited to finally be moving into a new, bigger house!  Yes, we found a house, and we chose to do all this manual labor in the dead of Texas heat to move everything.  LOL!  Ok, so we’ve actually hired a team to move all the heavy stuff, but there’s still a lot of going back and forth that has us working pretty hard.  It will all be so worth it, though, as this house will finally give us the space we need.  No more tripping over dialysis boxes every time we turn around.  No more having to wait until everyone is finished taking their turn in the bathroom so I can “hook up” my cycler at night…. I never realized how much I depended on my own space until I didn’t have it anymore!

Next weekend, after we’re done with the manual labor, I’m off for sweating in the sun!   I’m flying down to Austin for the 50th Anniversary of the Longhorn Alumni Band weekend!  Those who know me know that I was a total band nerd in school… and UT has an alumni band that meets every year to march with the current band.  It’s been about 10 years since the last time I marched with the alumni, but I am going to go down for the celebration and I’m so excited to see my friends!  I won’t be able to march this year due to my health situation (don’t think I’d have the stamina to last that long – it’s a full day of activity!), but I can sit in the stands during the half-time show and cheer them on!  It’ll be good to be back in Austin doing all the things I love to do with the people I love.  🙂

humor - dialysis quotes

************

Things I’m thankful for today:

1.  Fred’s Downtown Philly – for carrying GF bread so I can finally have a delicious Philly Cheesteak!  Yum!!!

2.  My family for helping me move all my stuff since I’m not allowed to lift/move anything myself.  I feel helpless, and I’m thankful for you carrying my weight… literally!  🙂

3.  The one lonely RayBan store in San Francisco that still carries the frames I love (they were discontinued).  I can’t wait to get my new pair in the mail!

Leave a Reply

Six Until Me – diabetes blog

Life is one big adventure...especially when it's covered in cheese!

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

The Taco Trail

¡Tacoventura!

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

japecake

HUMOR & POPULAR CULTURE & WORDS & AMPERSANDS

White Elephant in the Room

random insight from an unwanted houseguest

The Big Sheep Blog

Where imagination, business and life collide.

Typical Type 1

Is there anything new to say about living with Type 1 diabetes? Maybe not, but I'll try anyway.

Diabetically Speaking

Life is one big adventure...especially when it's covered in cheese!

Holly's Walk

Documenting amazing journeys across America on foot

Bob Northam

Author of The ABC's of the Big D: My Life on Dialysis

ABQ Brats

Making the transition to the civilian world together

DevonTexas

© 2013 DevonTexas

Forever Gluten Free

Adventures in Gluten Free Living

