I Just Want to Feel This Moment!

To gloat in the words of Ice Cube, “today was a good day…eeeee ahhhh eeeee!”  Actually, it was a GREAT day!!!  And not because I didn’t have to use my A.K.!  I actually got the feeling that things were going right when I didn’t fall on my face doing the treadmill stress test this morning… and the feeling was solidified when Taco Casa filled my tacos to overflowing on my way home!  But the real firecracker for today was when Glenn called me to let me know about the results of our compatibility test… WE’RE A MATCH!!!!!

YYYYYEEEEEEEEEEEHHHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAWWWWWWW!!!!

It's all good in the 'hood...

It’s all good in the ‘hood…

I’m so excited!  I’ve been a grinning, crying, ecstatic, blubbering idiot all afternoon!  Part of me, again, is afraid of getting too excited, but I feel that this is a huge accomplishment and I have every right to be happy… to find someone who is a match on the first try!  Of course, we still have a few more obstacles to get past… Glenn has to complete his testing and evaluation, and once he’s done, has to get approved by the committee just like I did.  So, now my prayers are going to him and his success!  And not just because I know the end result will benefit me, but because Glenn has proven to be an amazing person to do what he is doing.  I will be forever grateful to him for going through this for me!

I’ve been trying to let this information sink in all afternoon… this is going to happen!  All this time, I’ve been hearing “you’ll get the call ANY DAY…” yadda yadda yadda… and each time I get put on hold, it’s felt like that call was just out of reach.  Now, I don’t have to wait for that call.  I don’t have to pray for someone to die so I can get a kidney!  (Not that I’ve ever actually prayed for someone to DIE… but how do you pray for that scenario???)  I can actually see a light at the end of the tunnel, and it looks like a huge, shiny disco ball waiting just for me!

************

Things I’m thankful for today:

1.  Glenn…and his awesome blood and tissue for playin’ cool with me!

2.  My new Bose headphones for taking my music experience to a whole new level!!  Wow!!!   (No, I did not get paid to say that… but I’ll gladly accept all checks made out to me!)

3.  All the coworkers I shadowed to get in the building today for not throwing me to the curb… forgot my badge.  Had to look like a total creeper every time I stepped out of  the secured areas.

4.  For all my friends and family who shared in the excitement of my news and cried along with me.  🙂  I love ya’ll!

4 responses

  1. So happy for you. Great news!

  2. So exciting!!! I’m very happy for you!!

  3. I’m very happy for you and Glenn. I hope it all goes well. There’s nothing like sharing kidneys that brings people closer together! LOL

    1. Right?? Look at all the friends I’ve made since starting this blog! Who knew kidneys could be such an ice breaker. 😉 And thank you!

Leave a Reply

Six Until Me – diabetes blog

Life is one big adventure...especially when it's covered in cheese!

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

The Taco Trail

¡Tacoventura!

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

japecake

HUMOR & POPULAR CULTURE & WORDS & AMPERSANDS

White Elephant in the Room

random insight from an unwanted houseguest

The Big Sheep Blog

Where imagination, business and life collide.

Typical Type 1

Is there anything new to say about living with Type 1 diabetes? Maybe not, but I'll try anyway.

Diabetically Speaking

Life is one big adventure...especially when it's covered in cheese!

Holly's Walk

Documenting amazing journeys across America on foot

Bob Northam

Author of The ABC's of the Big D: My Life on Dialysis

ABQ Brats

Making the transition to the civilian world together

DevonTexas

© 2013 DevonTexas

Forever Gluten Free

Adventures in Gluten Free Living

