I’ve got to ride like the wind…to be free again.

Yowza!  This has been one crazy week!  For the last year or so, I feel as if I’ve been in this little bubble, so to speak, where I’m extremely limited with my actions and choices.  However, lately… and finally, every step feels like it’s starting to get closer to the wild, open freedom I’ve been dying to get back to!

First, my family has made a decision that since we are unsure when this surgery could happen, and it might not happen for awhile, we need to look for a bigger place to live.  Right now, my sister and I have become one of the many “adult children who have moved home” statistics.  For obvious reasons… I can NOT imagine having to go through all of this while living alone.  Not only that, but when my sister and I were sharing our apartment, helping me was getting to be a huge burden for her to carry by herself.  At least by staying with our parents, we have two amazing people helping out when things get rough… and I love them for it!  However, we’re literally on top of each other in this small house and it’s KILLING us.  So, a house-huntin’ we will go!  And boy have we!  Nothing’s been finalized yet, but hopefully soon we can end the search and settle down in a new (bigger) place that will allow us all to breathe!

Second, we’ve had a sort of breakthrough in the kidney news!  A part of me was hesitant to blog about it mainly because I didn’t want to get my hopes up, but I agreed to write about my experience in full disclosure, and I’ve already gotten my hopes up, so what the H!  I’d like to introduce you to Glenn.  He and his wife are best friends with my sister, and he has volunteered to donate a kidney to me…and we’ve only met once!  (Granted, that one time was at a party about 7 years ago that I’m sure neither of us remember…LOL!)  I’m continually dumbfounded by the amazing generosity of someone who is willing to give such a big part of himself to someone he doesn’t even know!  Simply amazing!  After meeting him (again), it’s evident that his personality matches his actions.  He’s definitely probably one of the nicest guys I’ve ever met!  He called the donation number, got through the phone screening, had his application approved, and has already gotten through all the pre-medical check ups required of a donor.  Monday, we had the final decision test… we went in to Baylor to get our blood checked for compatibility.  (They will apparently check both our blood and tissue types for a match via the blood they took.)  It was our first step in the process together, and I’m so thankful.  Even if we don’t turn out to be a match, I’m grateful that he even made the effort to go through all these steps just for me.  🙂  Glenn told me that the coordinator said it could be 10-14 days before we find out.  So, now we wait for the results!   Of course, I pray that we are a match so that I can go back to living a normal life and be over with this phase of it all.  However, I struggle thinking of him having to go through a major surgery and all of the recovery involved when he doesn’t have to.  It would be the same for anyone who would donate…and it’s one reason I didn’t want to go through with a living donor.  However, I keep having to remind myself that sometimes angels are sent to us without our knowledge or request and he wouldn’t have offered if for any reason he didn’t want to go through with it.  Glenn, I know I’ve said this before, but I thank you from the bottom of my heart.  As I do with any of you who have called and maybe didn’t get through the screening.  You are ALL angels.

Lastly, I’m also going to be traveling for the first time since I started dialysis.  Due to a death in the family, we are flying out to attend the funeral, and since I’m on hold with the transplant, I have a small amount of freedom to actually travel.  One of the main reasons I am doing PD is because of the ease of travel it affords.  I’m going to see if this is true.  First obstacle I’ve found is that I actually have to carry my cycler myself.  I had thought they could ship one to my hotel with all of the dialysis fluid, but was wrong.  No worries, my dialysis clinic has a special suitcase for it, so we got past that hurdle.  I just hope I don’t set off alarms and have to answer 20 questions at the security gate because of my catheter!  This will also be the first time I’ve traveled since I was diagnosed with Celiac.  A lot of you are wondering why that would be such a big deal, but I’m here to tell you that I’ve been spoiled living in Texas.  Mexican food has been my safe “default” food since there are so many options I can eat… and as you all know, Texas has plenty of Mexican food.  I’m about to go to a place that is predominantly Italian.  Pasta, pizza, bread, and breaded items…I feel I’m going to be hard-pressed to find a variety of gluten free options.  We’ll see… I’m going to keep an open mind!  If not, I’ll be eating cheese cubes and lettuce leaves.

************

Things I’m thankful for today:

1.  That I’m going to be able to see my family in NJ for the first time in a loooong time, even if it was under horrible circumstances.

2.  I’m starting work in a few days!  I can’t wait to see everyone and I hope I can maintain a consistent schedule (without stops to the hospital) while back!

3.   Ironman is gluten free!  hee hee… (yes, I gave a silent whoop when he said he had g-free waffles for breakfast!)  Thank you for that subtle marketing effort towards Celiac Awareness… even if he isn’t a Celiac.

4.  On that same note…Mooyah burgers on “ice” (a burger with iceburg lettuce instead of a bun) – for giving me an AWESOME g-free burger option w/out having to sound like some diet-obsessed freak asking for no bread to touch my meat.  I will go one step further to thank them for their preparation setup (grilling buns on a separate grill, not using same oil for fries and any breaded items like onion rings, etc.) so I know I have a completely safe place to eat w/out fearing cross-contamination!  Bravo!!

Leave a Reply

Six Until Me – diabetes blog

Life is one big adventure...especially when it's covered in cheese!

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

The Taco Trail

¡Tacoventura!

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

japecake

HUMOR & POPULAR CULTURE & WORDS & AMPERSANDS

White Elephant in the Room

random insight from an unwanted houseguest

The Big Sheep Blog

Where imagination, business and life collide.

Typical Type 1

Is there anything new to say about living with Type 1 diabetes? Maybe not, but I'll try anyway.

Diabetically Speaking

Life is one big adventure...especially when it's covered in cheese!

Holly's Walk

Documenting amazing journeys across America on foot

Bob Northam

Author of The ABC's of the Big D: My Life on Dialysis

ABQ Brats

Making the transition to the civilian world together

DevonTexas

© 2013 DevonTexas

Forever Gluten Free

Adventures in Gluten Free Living

