The future will take care of itself somehow.

Well, it’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve had my chest catheter removed… what a RELIEF!!! It feels soooo good to be able to shower again (yes, I’ve been bathing all this time), sleep on my side again, go out in public without people staring again! 🙂 Mostly, it’s nice to be able to do my own dialysis again without having to spend hours in the clinic every other day. Not saying that the nurses at the clinic weren’t amazing, they were all very nice and are very good at what they do, but it is nice to be able to lie in my own bed when doing my exchanges and not have to schedule my entire day around when I need to be at the clinic. I have to admit, I was pretty nervous when I went to have the catheter removed… they told me they weren’t going to knock me out to do it, and knowing that I was going to be awake for the procedure made me freak out a bit. I think the fear of the unexpected was worse than the reality because it literally took two seconds and I didn’t feel a thing. LOL! I’m sure I helped give those nurses a good laugh afterwards with that one, though. 😉

With fear of jinxing everything, I’m going to say that things have been pretty smooth since! I have been feeling pretty good, no complications… I’m hoping it continues! The only issue I am having right now is that I think my pleurisy is returning. I’ve had a consistent sharp pain in my left lung, but I’m hoping it will go away with enough dialysis, and if I keep from lying on my left side, I should be fine for now.

I’ve also been told that I’m supposed to go back to work in about two weeks. On one hand, I’m excited to be back in the office with everyone and to get busy with something productive! On the other hand, I’m a little nervous only because I haven’t had the surgery yet, and given how many complications I’ve had, I’m not sure when and if the next one will happen. When they happen, they happen pretty suddenly with no warning, and every time I go to the ER, I end up being admitted for several days. It’s not fair to expect my coworkers to have to keep scheduling work around me like that, and it’s one of the reasons I went on medical leave. My short-term disability, though, has run out, and now I need to get back to the office. I can file for an extension, however, I think I’ll just save it for when I actually go in for the surgery. Let’s pray that everything continues to go OK!

On another note, I’ve been told that there have been a few people who have called in to offer a donation! I do not know who all has called, nor am I asking at this point, but if you have called in, I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart!!! Whether or not you made it through the phone screening, I can not express how much I truly appreciate your even trying to help! Words can’t describe how much it means to me! 🙂 I understand that the process has many steps, so I’m not sure if there have been any matches, but they will call me and let me know if a match turns up…and who it will be with. I’m glad I’ve included this option because, in a way, it’s given me a new level of hope. I feel better knowing that my odds have improved by opening this door.

****************

What I’m thankful for today:

1.  Being self-sufficient.  It was nice to have the nurses at the clinic take care of me, but there’s just something about being able to do things for yourself.

2.  That my best friend Steve, in Boston, was able to stay safe and free from danger when he was only blocks from the bombing!

3.  That my excitement for cooking is returning.  The GF thing really turned me off for awhile… now I’m trying to relearn my recipes and have fun with it again.

4.  That Cinco de Mayo is right around the corner… tacos anyone????  😉

2 responses

  1. Michelle Kelly | Reply

    I am thankful that I had the opportunity to meet your beautiful, amazing mother. I am thankful that she shared you with me, and I can’t wait to meet you! I am thankful for the reminder that life is a gift, and we should never take anything for granted. And, I am thankful for your wit and sense of humor, you are a true inspiration!!!

    1. Thank you so much Michelle! I agree, my mother is pretty amazing and I’m greatful to have here with me everyday. I look forward to meeting you as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Six Until Me – diabetes blog

Life is one big adventure...especially when it's covered in cheese!

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

The Taco Trail

¡Tacoventura!

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

japecake

HUMOR & POPULAR CULTURE & WORDS & AMPERSANDS

White Elephant in the Room

random insight from an unwanted houseguest

The Big Sheep Blog

Where imagination, business and life collide.

Typical Type 1

Is there anything new to say about living with Type 1 diabetes? Maybe not, but I'll try anyway.

Diabetically Speaking

Life is one big adventure...especially when it's covered in cheese!

Holly's Walk

Documenting amazing journeys across America on foot

Bob Northam

Author of The ABC's of the Big D: My Life on Dialysis

ABQ Brats

Making the transition to the civilian world together

DevonTexas

© 2013 DevonTexas

Forever Gluten Free

Adventures in Gluten Free Living

