You wanna be tough better do what you can… just beat it!

I survived my first day of hemo!!  I have to admit, it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be… I was all puffing out my chest thinking that I had conquered the one thing I feared the most, but then again, I kind of skirted the part of hemo I fear the most… the needles and shunt, so I can’t be all THAT proud.  haha… Since I’m only having to do this temporarily, they placed a catheter in my chest (kind of looks like two tubes coming out of the right side of my chest), so all they have to do is hook up the tubes to the machine and the machine will do the work for me.  No needles at all!  Which I am totally TOTALLY happy about.  The story would be VERY different if I had to do this full time permanently.  So, yesterday, they placed the catheter in, and afterwards, they wheeled me into the dialysis center for my treatment.   Since I was drugged out for them to do put the catheter in, I pretty much slept through the majority of my dialysis.  Afterwards, I was a bit weak (which was not only due to the residual anesthesia, but also partly normal when they take that much fluid off in one sitting), but I can finally breathe!!  My sister also told me that my eyes are whiter and my stomach looks flatter again.  Yay!   What a difference a day makes!!  What’s nice is that I also don’t have to spend a half hour setting up my cycler getting ready for bed tonight…hahaha…

Today, I met with the surgeon to get my PD catheter fixed, so I’ll be going in for surgery to get that done on Tuesday.  It will be done laproscopically, so hopefully it won’t be a big deal.  Until then, I have to do the hemo tomorrow and Monday.  I’m not even sure if I’ll be able to use my PD catheter immediately after they fix it, so I might have to continue for the rest of the week… we’ll see.  I’ll just have to make sure I have plenty of reading material on hand in case I do.  🙂  I just feel more at peace knowing that things are being taken care of and I’m not having to suffer much while doing it.

I have to say, ya’ll really helped me yesterday.  When I was feeling so angry/upset that I couldn’t find things to be positive about, you pulled through and found them for me.  I truly have the most amazing friends!  🙂  Thank you soooooo much!

Have an amazing Easter weekend!

****************

What I’m thankful for today:

1.  I do not have to deal with hemo needles!!!

2.  I have a small chest… this catheter is preventing me from wearing a bra, so I’m glad I’m not accosting anyone with my bazookas!  😉

3.  Sister days!  They allow me to be as free, angry, lazy or inspired as I want to be under the safe wing of my sister, who will be following my example…making me laugh.

4.  My parents who have sat in nasty emergency rooms at all hours of the night, with all types of characters to make sure I get the help I need!  Love ya’ll!  😀

5.  Large waiting rooms… so you don’t have some random family who can’t speak English sitting in your lap (literally) while you try to quietly read your magazine in peace.

8 responses

  1. Told you it wouldn’t be so bad and your very lucky you had your Hickman line in while your were asleep because here in Oz they put them in while your awake with only some local!! ouch! Remember, there is a healthier you inside waiting to come out soon xx

  2. I know what it feels like to have the stomach and lung pressure relieved. It’s like an elephant lifted off your chest!

    I’m really glad you had a great day today!

  3. Hey Roberta,
    I’m glad that through the poking and prodding you can find some humor. Meanwhile I am still perfecting the Tortilla Soup- I’ve got the little fried strips down no problem!
    Hugs and Prayers to you
    Suzanne

  4. I continue to be amazed by you! I can’t say I am that entertaining of a person, but I would love to just come talk about any random thing I can think of with you anytime. Seriously! If you find a time you need someone to fill the void, please let me know!

    1. Thanks Nila! I would love to see you and catch up! 🙂 Maybe when all this drama settles down we can get together…

  5. Glad to hear you made it through okay. Hemo can be scary. My hubby goes to night-time hemodialysis three times a week. He hates the needles, but he’s not a candidate for PD at this time. Poor guy has some serious scars where his access is!

    I hope you can get to your preferred method asap. Good luck! 🙂

  6. Great news Berta, one day at time and so glad you are feeling better. Let me know if you need any new reading material 🙂 xoxo, Veronica

    1. Thanks! I’m always up for new reading material! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Six Until Me – diabetes blog

Life is one big adventure...especially when it's covered in cheese!

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

The Taco Trail

¡Tacoventura!

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

japecake

HUMOR & POPULAR CULTURE & WORDS & AMPERSANDS

White Elephant in the Room

random insight from an unwanted houseguest

The Big Sheep Blog

Where imagination, business and life collide.

Typical Type 1

Is there anything new to say about living with Type 1 diabetes? Maybe not, but I'll try anyway.

Diabetically Speaking

Life is one big adventure...especially when it's covered in cheese!

Holly's Walk

Documenting amazing journeys across America on foot

Bob Northam

Author of The ABC's of the Big D: My Life on Dialysis

ABQ Brats

Making the transition to the civilian world together

DevonTexas

© 2013 DevonTexas

Forever Gluten Free

Adventures in Gluten Free Living

