The verdict…

I just wanted to send out a quick note to let you know what the results were from the committee meeting today.  My transplant coordinator called me to tell me that my cardiologist upheld a very long and detailed discussion about me, but unfortunately they decided a combined kidney/pancreas surgery would be too risky for me.  The way I view it, in a few years, maybe medical advances will have improved the process to allow me to try again.  Always try again.

On another note, they did NOT make me active for the kidney yet, either.  They want my cardiologist to perform another heart cath on the right side of my heart (the part that’s been giving us trouble for the last year and a half) to make sure it’s strong enough to withstand the surgery.  I believe he’s already mentioned he’d get that done as quickly as possible, and could happen as soon as two weeks from now.  Come on heart… be a team player again.   I really REALLY don’t want to be on dialysis for the rest of my life!!!!

Once again, we hurry up and wait.  😉

Leave a Reply

Six Until Me – diabetes blog

Life is one big adventure...especially when it's covered in cheese!

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

The Taco Trail

¡Tacoventura!

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

japecake

HUMOR & POPULAR CULTURE & WORDS & AMPERSANDS

White Elephant in the Room

random insight from an unwanted houseguest

The Big Sheep Blog

Where imagination, business and life collide.

Typical Type 1

Is there anything new to say about living with Type 1 diabetes? Maybe not, but I'll try anyway.

Diabetically Speaking

Life is one big adventure...especially when it's covered in cheese!

Holly's Walk

Documenting amazing journeys across America on foot

Bob Northam

Author of The ABC's of the Big D: My Life on Dialysis

ABQ Brats

Making the transition to the civilian world together

DevonTexas

© 2013 DevonTexas

Forever Gluten Free

Adventures in Gluten Free Living

