Wind of Change

Who needs Wikipedia when I have friends like you!  😉  Thank you for your suggestions, ya’ll are amazing!  I’ve got a number of books to check out now, and lots of helpful ammo in my pocket to get through this new G-Free journey!  Just like anything, I’m sure it’s just going to be a matter of getting used to another change, which shouldn’t be TOO tough.  I am a military brat after all, so if there’s anything I’m used to, it’s change!  I do have to say, though, the one big bummer of this is that I’m not going to be able to have my most beloved of all things at the State Fair… the famous fried foods!!  😦  I guess I don’t need it anyway, right?  So far, a week on the diet, and it doesn’t seem so hard!

So, Friday, I had yet, another really good doctor’s visit…this time, with my cardiologist.  I was finally able to do the stress test we’d been waiting to do… what a weird experience!  As I mentioned earlier, this time they used medication to raise my heart rate instead of the treadmill.  They gave me an IV and injected this medication that first made my heart and blood flow glow (on the screen…not through my chest)!  Then, they injected another medication that slowly made my heart race as if I’d been running from a pack of hungry wolves!  It kind of freaked me out a little since I was just laying there and all of a sudden my heart felt like it was about to bust through my chest, but I knew I was in good hands.  As this was happening, they took pictures of my heart from every angle to see what was working and what wasn’t.  I have to say it’s music to my ears to hear my doctor get excited about what he was seeing.  He told me that the medication I’ve been taking has been strengthening my heart and it looks MUCH better than it did a few months ago, and that the improvement that’s been made in this short of time showed tons of potential for further improvement and was very unusual (in a good way)!  The best part?  He approved of me moving forward with the kidney transplant!!!!  WOOOHOOO!!  He felt that based on what he saw, there was no reason I should hold off from being active on the list again!  I knew our prayers would be answered, and my heart would be a team player.  😉

Now, the bad news.  Unfortunately, due to the fact that I do have such complicated heart damage, he does not approve of my going forward with the pancreas transplant.  He said that it couldn’t reverse the damage done already, and “honestly, it would take care of just the diabetes”.  “Just the diabetes”??  I had to point out that this was precisely what put me in the position I was in today.  What may just be an inconvenience to someone who doesn’t have it, is what is literally KILLING me.  Diabetes is a mean MF’er and  if getting rid of it means I don’t have to deal with any more of this nightmare, now or with future issues, then I’m absolutely going to find a way to do it.  Unfortunately, due to Baylor protocol, the surgery itself would be too risky to perform with my heart situation, so I guess if I had to choose between living with just the kidney or dying on the table, I’ll choose to live.   I’ll be honest, though, I was not surprised about his decision to deny the pancreas transplant.  I haven’t had much faith in the success of the pancreas surgery anyway since it’s still experimental.  Knowing that my diabetes could come back in a very short time took a lot of the excitement out of it for me.  So, you know what?  I’m going to pray that in a few years, when medical advancements have improved in that area, and my heart has become made of steel, I will try again.  Maybe I’ll have better luck then.  Of course, I say this not knowing exactly what the transplant team will say!  They may actually approve of both!  And just to be clear, I’m not active on the list again just yet.  I’ve merely made it past the biggest hurdle holding me back.  It’s ultimately up to the transplant team to decide what to do, and until I get that call from them saying I’m actually active again, I’ll hold my breath.

In the meantime, I’ll celebrate my victory and pray that the bribery check I sent Baylor goes through!  😉

****************

What I’m thankful for today:

1.  My miracle heart medication.
2.  Patio weather!  I love the fall…
3.  Good friends that keep you distracted when an entire bar of Sooners are cramming their win in your face.
3 responses

  1. Congrats on the good heart news. So are you back on the transplant list now or will that take a while?

    1. Not yet… still waiting for the transplant team to let me know what’s going on. Hopefully I’ll hear from my coordinator this week!

      1. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

Six Until Me – diabetes blog

Life is one big adventure...especially when it's covered in cheese!

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

The Taco Trail

¡Tacoventura!

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

japecake

HUMOR & POPULAR CULTURE & WORDS & AMPERSANDS

White Elephant in the Room

random insight from an unwanted houseguest

The Big Sheep Blog

Where imagination, business and life collide.

Typical Type 1

Is there anything new to say about living with Type 1 diabetes? Maybe not, but I'll try anyway.

Diabetically Speaking

Life is one big adventure...especially when it's covered in cheese!

Holly's Walk

Documenting amazing journeys across America on foot

Bob Northam

Author of The ABC's of the Big D: My Life on Dialysis

ABQ Brats

Making the transition to the civilian world together

DevonTexas

© 2013 DevonTexas

Forever Gluten Free

Adventures in Gluten Free Living

