Dr. Feelgood!!!

In the words of a very enthusiastic, bright and squishy…um, sea creature (?), “Happy!  Happy!  Joy!  Joy!”

You know when Ziggy (the cartoon) used to climb the mountain to ask the wise man about life’s biggest questions?  Unfortunately for Ziggy, he usually got some very depressing answer or a question to his question, or something totally lame that left him completely deflated.  Well, I wish Ziggy was with me today as I finally got answers to some of MY big questions!  I had a follow up appt with my GI doctor today (who conducted my colon/endoscopy) and he went over the results… turns out I have Celiac Disease!  LOL!  I say that as if I’m excited to have it, which I’m clearly NOT – the last thing I need is to eliminate even more items from my continuously dwindling food choices – but it’s finally a relief to know what has been causing some issues of mine that have not been going away.  I’m ALL for solutions!

For those who don’t know what this is, apparently  it’s a hereditary autoimmune issue (yep, another one) that causes the villi (the long fingers in your intestines that absorb minerals, etc. from the food you eat) to react and become damaged whenever it comes in contact with gluten.  It’s what’s been causing my stomach issues for the past 6 months.  What I was shocked to find out was that it was also what was going on with my skin!  All this time, my doctors were thinking it was Kyrle’s Disease due to my kidney failure, but it turns out it’s just another aspect of Celiac Disease!  My doctor told me to have my dermatologist confirm this, but it totally explains why nothing I’ve been doing has been making it go away!  Good news is that once I start a totally gluten-free diet, all of my symptoms will go away, and my villi and skin will return to normal!  WEEEEEEE!  THIS is what I’m TALKIN’ about!

So, now I’m on the hunt to learn more about gluten-free food.  Good thing it’s totally trendy right now and everyone seems to be coming up with new products and menu items right and left!  Shoot me a message if you have any suggestions…I’m all ears!  Also, let us all bow our heads in a moment of THANK YOU that corn-made Mexican food products do not have gluten.  😀

****************

What I’m thankful for today:

1.  Answers!
2.  Determination – paid off as I FINALLY got the promotion I’ve been working so hard to get!  Yay me!  🙂
3.  That it’s 6:20pm…and OU still…wait, do we have any OU readers out there?!
3 responses

  1. I hope this is one blessings if many! Look up Paleo diets when you have time. If you think it will work, I’ll loan you my cookbook. Love you & congrats!

  2. Important to know: initially it is necessary to remove all forms of gluten from the diet. That, as you probably know, is all forms of wheat, rye, barley, and oats. Once you have achieved your goal, which I imagine to be getting rid of your GI and derm symptoms, you MIGHT (under-score MIGHT) be able to reintroduce OATS. A good number of folks with celiac sprue are able to tolerate oats. If that’s something you’re interested in trying, go ahead and, after a few months of total gluten avoidance and cessation of your symptoms – if you are so inclined – gradually bring oat products into your diet. If symptoms return then simply stop the oats and chalk it up to “well, at least I gave it a try!”
    A good resource for information about the ailment can be found at:
    http://emedicine.medscape.com/article/171805-overview – then follow the prompts through the entire discussion
    Another resource: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmedhealth/PMH0001280/
    Last bit of unsolicited advice – get involved in a good Support Group for your condition. In Texas: http://www.enabling.org/ia/celiac/groups/grpus-tx.html
    I wish you well, and as always, I have warm regards for you and your family!
    Mick

  3. PF Changs has an awesome gluten free menu!!

Leave a Reply

Six Until Me – diabetes blog

Life is one big adventure...especially when it's covered in cheese!

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

The Taco Trail

¡Tacoventura!

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

japecake

HUMOR & POPULAR CULTURE & WORDS & AMPERSANDS

White Elephant in the Room

random insight from an unwanted houseguest

The Big Sheep Blog

Where imagination, business and life collide.

Typical Type 1

Is there anything new to say about living with Type 1 diabetes? Maybe not, but I'll try anyway.

Diabetically Speaking

Life is one big adventure...especially when it's covered in cheese!

Holly's Walk

Documenting amazing journeys across America on foot

Bob Northam

Author of The ABC's of the Big D: My Life on Dialysis

ABQ Brats

Making the transition to the civilian world together

DevonTexas

© 2013 DevonTexas

Forever Gluten Free

Adventures in Gluten Free Living

