Kickstart my heart…hope it never stops!

If there’s one thing I hate more than beans on my nachos, it’s waiting for the unknown!  Ugh!  I feel like every step of this process has been “hurry up and wait” (a concept of which I’m sure all you fellow LHB’ers are all too familiar with).  I’ve had to rush to get various tests done, rush to get appts made, and rush as if my life depends on it (ok, so it does), and then wait wait wait for results, news, more appts, etc. Today, I had my appt with my cardiologist and I feel like the ball is FINALLY rolling on this heart issue.  I say that as if we haven’t been doing anything this whole time…he’s actually been allowing my medication to work it’s magic, which according to him, is doing just fine.  If you remember from a couple of blogs ago, I also mentioned we were waiting for a special dye to be ordered for a chemical stress test he’d like to perform.  Well, it finally came in!  Woohoo!  I told him let’s get it scheduled and “git ‘er done!”  I want this ticker working properly again!  Sooo, my first test is going to be scheduled for next Friday, and luckily it won’t be an all-day thing so I can go back to work afterward.  I wanted him to go ahead and schedule the heart cath too, but he said he wanted to see what this test showed before doing so.  (Now I’M the one who’s saying “Hurry up!”)  He also added another medication to my ever-growing list of pills.  As long as it doesn’t cause any more side effects!  I’m already having to deal with a new wave of acne from my last medicine change!  (Of course, neither my cardiologist nor more dermatologist can confirm it… I can tell them exactly when it started.  Be it from the medicine, or the stress of all of this, it’s still a side effect I am hating!  LOL!)  Seriously, I feel like I’m back in high school again… and I didn’t even have acne in high school!!

On a different note, I’ve had many people ask how I’m “truly” feeling, as if my words to you are just a mask.  First off, I want to thank you for the concern!  I am truly blessed to have so many friends and family members care that much for me!  But I promised you that I would be as open as I possibly can on this thing, and I am trying NOT to hide behind my typical mask anymore.  So, what you read is exactly what you get!  I’m doing great!  I have had a few days here and there where the nausea takes over and I just curl up and sleep, but for the most part, I’m feeling great!  🙂  Secondly, I’ve made it a vow to myself to keep on “living” while all this is going on.  Just because I have a few “wrinkles” to iron out, doesn’t mean my life has to stop!  For awhile, it was pretty hard to keep pushing myself since my energy was being completely sapped, however, since I started the dialysis, that hasn’t been an issue, and I’ve been taking full advantage of it.  I’ve been doing my “thing” by having dinners with “my girls”, attending our work team-building events, going to a speed dating session (yes, it was on my bucket list to try), and basically getting into troub…I mean, staying social.  😉  I did the hermit thing for a short period, and it just did NOT work for me. As I said before, this isn’t FB, so I’m not going to go into details, but I just wanted to let you know not to worry, as I’m as “normal” as I can be right now.  🙂
The State Fair is here and I absolutely plan on gettin’ me some sausage on a stick and adrenaline-pumping spins on the death-go-rounds (aka rides)!!!  I’ll write again when I have more exciting news!  🙂

****************

What I’m thankful for today:

1.  Carm and Jen are coming to visit!!!  WOOOHOOO!!!
2.  My Uncle is in good spirits after suffering from his OWN heart issues this past week.  We love you Uncle Art!  Stay strong!
3.  Barbara had a safe and spoiled trip to San Francisco to celebrate her award.  So proud of you and glad you made it back…with probably the only airline not on strike!
One response

  1. Love to hear you are feeling well. Write next about your speed dating experience!

Leave a Reply

Six Until Me – diabetes blog

Life is one big adventure...especially when it's covered in cheese!

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

The Taco Trail

¡Tacoventura!

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

japecake

HUMOR & POPULAR CULTURE & WORDS & AMPERSANDS

White Elephant in the Room

random insight from an unwanted houseguest

The Big Sheep Blog

Where imagination, business and life collide.

Typical Type 1

Is there anything new to say about living with Type 1 diabetes? Maybe not, but I'll try anyway.

Diabetically Speaking

Life is one big adventure...especially when it's covered in cheese!

Holly's Walk

Documenting amazing journeys across America on foot

Bob Northam

Author of The ABC's of the Big D: My Life on Dialysis

ABQ Brats

Making the transition to the civilian world together

DevonTexas

© 2013 DevonTexas

Forever Gluten Free

Adventures in Gluten Free Living

