How soon is now???

So, for those of you who were wondering how my colon-/endoscopy went last week… I guess everything came out alright!  Hee… Yes.  I went there.  Oldest joke in the book.    Seriously, though, all went as smooth as you could expect.  I haven’t heard anything from them regarding results, but I’m confident that there won’t really be anything much to report.  If there is, I hope it’s something that is very easily (and quickly) fixed!  What caught me off guard was the fact that they had to use a special drug to knock me out b/c the usual stuff would have been too harsh on my heart.  I was shocked when the anesthesiologist told me that after reviewing the notes from my cardiologist, she had to make that decision b/c I only had 30% usage of my heart!  I know he had told me that I only had 30% pulse strength in my heart beat, so to hear her phrase it the way she did put a new spin on it.  I guess they both mean the same thing if you sit back and think about what the heart is actually doing, but it was still a shock to me.

Other than that, I don’t have much else to report!  I’ve just been killing time with etiquette classes and the Dallas Cowboys!  haha… I’m sure the etiquette instructor would absolutely DIE knowing I was discussing exams of the nether region in a public forum.  😀   I still haven’t heard anything regarding that dye we’re waiting for (for the heart testing), and my next appt with the cardiologist isn’t for another couple of weeks.  I am getting a bit anxious to get active again.  I’ve told my sister that I’m really wanting to start tennis lessons!  I guess being forced to be so in-active has lit a fire under my feet that has caused me to get a little fidgety…I just have to get the clearance from my doc to say it’s ok to start!  Otherwise, I’d be giving my tennis instructor a new level of stress with every fall I make!  LOL!  Can you imagine?  “Oh don’t mind me…but, if I trip and go into a cardiac arrest, just make a quick call to 911.  Ok?  Great, thanks.”

I want to take a moment to thank everyone again for your amazing support!  I hear from you that my blogs have helped educate some of you and created a bit of awareness to a new side of this situation that some have never seen.  I’m glad.  I’ve often questioned why I had to be the one to get this, and what the reasonings were for my suffering… and I know this sounds cheesy and completely clichéd, but maybe it was supposed to happen so that I could help educate at least one person on all of this.  Maybe it’s b/c I’m supposed to help put a more human view on a very clinical issue we always just hear about.  Maybe it was a strange way for me to reconnect with those I’m most close to.  This would not have been my most ideal way of going about it, granted, but I guess it’s worked!  🙂  And although it appears that I’m helping you in some small way, you are absolutely helping ME in a HUGE way!  So, thank you for all the amazing things you have said to me!  Your words are truly inspiring!  🙂

****************

What I’m thankful for today:

1.  Rainy days – for making flat, limp hair look wavy and cool!

2.  Spotify – for helping my day go by quicker

3.  Kameron, Veronica and Christi – for having the most fun and crazy dinner conversations. (hee…)

One response

  1. Stay strong, we love you Berta!

Leave a Reply

Six Until Me – diabetes blog

Life is one big adventure...especially when it's covered in cheese!

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

The Taco Trail

¡Tacoventura!

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

japecake

HUMOR & POPULAR CULTURE & WORDS & AMPERSANDS

White Elephant in the Room

random insight from an unwanted houseguest

The Big Sheep Blog

Where imagination, business and life collide.

Typical Type 1

Is there anything new to say about living with Type 1 diabetes? Maybe not, but I'll try anyway.

Diabetically Speaking

Life is one big adventure...especially when it's covered in cheese!

Holly's Walk

Documenting amazing journeys across America on foot

Bob Northam

Author of The ABC's of the Big D: My Life on Dialysis

ABQ Brats

Making the transition to the civilian world together

DevonTexas

© 2013 DevonTexas

Forever Gluten Free

Adventures in Gluten Free Living

